The Zebra originates from the African equids of the horse family and they are distinguished by their black and white stripes. Zebras are known to be social animals who roam around in groups. They are a mixture of horses, and donkeys. These animals are wild and have never been domesticated.

Zebras are characterized under three species. The plains zebra, the Grevys zebra and the mountain zebra. The plain and mountain zebra belongs to the Hippotigris family, and Gravy’s zebra is the solitary species of the sub genus Dolichohippus.


There are three genres of zebras first one would be plain zebra, second one is mountain zebra and third one is Grevys zebra.

There are three genres of zebras first one would be plain zebra, second one is mountain zebra and third one is Grevys zebra.

The unique black and white stripes are the differentiating features of a zebra. The mountain zebra and Gravy’s zebra are an endangered species while the plain zebras are seen to be roaming around in the open in huge numbers. Zebras are known to have a good vision along with a good life span. They are .2 to 1.3 m from shoulder to the body, and the total length including the legs can be 2 to 2.6 m.The tail size is around 0.5 m. The average weight of a zebra is 350 kgs.


A zebra is found in the Savannah grasslands as well as in the open woodlands and grasslands. They are also found in coastal hilly areas. Zebras are found all over the world however more of it is found in Africa and Asia. These horses like creatures are also found in the deserts and sandy lands.

Zebra has a very sharp vision as it can see things from far distance.

Zebra has a very sharp vision as it can see things from far distance.


The Zebra is a complete herbivorous animal that feeds on grass, leaves of trees and twigs. Many zebras also eat shrubs, herbs, and barks. Their digestive system is designed in a way so that they can chew on food of less nutritional value compared to other animals.


The female zebra matures earlier than a male one and she can have her first foal by the age of three. Males need to breed after they are five or six years of age. Mares can give birth to foals in every 12 months. She nurses the foal up to 12 months till they are able to stand, walk and suckle for milk.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Scientific classification of Zebra





Scientific Classification

] }

Recent Posts

Smurfzoo - Animal Kingdom

383 Total Animals,Do a search of animals and animal species, to learn more about animals

Amazon River Pink Dolphin Facts Habitat

Amazon River Dolphin Amazon River dolphin is a species of river dolphin that lives in the Amazon and Orinoco river systems in South America. The Pink Dolphins are only distant relatives with the dolphins living in the ocean and belong to different families as a family. Ocean Dolphins belong to Delphinidae and Amazon River Dolphins

Anaconda Facts Eunectes Murinus Habitat

Anaconda The anaconda (Eunectes murinus) snake species are the biggest snakes on earth. There are different types of anaconda such as green anaconda, yellow anaconda, river anaconda. It is the biggest and longest snake in the world. The biggest of the anaconda snakes is the ‘green anaconda’. Anacondas are also known as ‘elephant killer’. In

Agkistrodon Piscivorus Facts, Habitat, Characteristics

Agkistrodon Piscivorus Agkistrodon piscivorus is located in the east of the United States. These venomous snakes are found only in the south west and mid-west of North America. Because of these snakes, harmless water snakes take the biggest blow in human-snake relationships. Because generally every water snake is thought to be Agkistrodon piscivorus and killed