The Australian Parakeet is known as the budgie or the English parakeet.It is one of the most common parakeets in the world.They are native to the grasslands and many of them are known as lorikeets.

A parakeet refers to a small and medium sized parrot that is known to have long tail feathers and is available in a variety of colors.The name has been derived from the French name peroquet that means parrot in French


A Group of Budgerigar sitting together

A Group of Parakeet sitting together

Parakeets are known to be full of energy and vibrancy. These colorful birds love attention and make wonderful pets.They have long tails that covers half their body size.Theuir tails are square shaped.


Parakeets are found mostly in Australia and South America.They are found to be roaming in groups.They are known to be sold commercially as pets. There are 120 species of parakeets all over the world. The largest variety is found in Australia and the New World of Central and South America. Australia has over 30 species of remarkable colored parakeets. There are over 27 species found in the America, with numerous subspecies


Parakeets are known to be very intelligent birds that have outgoing personalities and are social as well. They adapt quickly to their cage and are very active as well. They need activities like climbing and chewing.They form a close bond with humans.They can be very well trained


A pair of male and female Budgerigar

A pair of male and female Parakeet

Parakeets feed on fruits, nuts and seeds, They also feed on small insects that stick on the trees.


Parakeets are known to breed readily in groups, but there can sometimes be conflicts between the breeding pairs. The presence of other parakeets around encourages a pair to breed and that is why breeding in groups in very successful. Parakeets produce about six to eight eggs if the parakeet successfully lays eggs.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Scientific classification of Parakeet





Scientific Classification

Range of the Parakeet

Recent Posts

  • Binturong

    The Biturong is an carnivorous animal. It is al...
  • Coyote

    The Coyote lives in North America. It is a fami...
  • Ankylosaurus

    Ankylosaurus is a type of dinosaur and it means...
  • Crocodile

    The crocodiles are large reptiles. They are amp...
  • Dodo

    The Dodo bird is a flightless bird. This bird h...

Bookmark Me

You need to login or register to bookmark/favorite this content.

Smurfzoo - Animal Kingdom

365 Total Animals,Do a search of animals and animal species, to learn more about animals


The Biturong is an carnivorous animal. It is also known as bearcat. This animal usually lives in South and Southeast Asia. This animal is decreasing in number and is on the verge of extinction. This is an omnivorous mammal. The Biturong may be called a bearcat but it does not look like a bear or


The Coyote lives in North America. It is a family member of the wolves but it is slightly smaller than the gray wolf, eastern wolf and red wolf. This animal is found in abundance and there is no sign of it getting extinct in recent years. This animal is very versatile because of its ability


Ankylosaurus is a type of dinosaur and it means ‘fused lizard’. This name was given because all parts of the body of this animal is fused together. This species was the last non-avian dinosaurs. Characteristics The largest animal of this species was known to be very large and was between 6-8 metres long. They also