The Ocelot is a dwarf leopard that resembles a wild cat. They were known to be killed for their fur and were thus known as a vulnerable species. The ocelot is a member of the genus Leopards, and is classified under the family Felidae.

An Ocelot in the captive state

An Ocelot in the captive state

The Ocelot is known to be one of the most difficult members of the feline family. It is a wonderful combination of stripes, bars, chains, spots, dots and smudges. The Ocelot resembles a Margay but is twice as heavy and has a greater body length.


The Ocelot is a medium sized spotted cat that resembles a bobcat. It ranges between 55 and 100 cms in head-and-body length and weighs 8–16 kilograms. It has a thin tail that is 26–45 centimeters long and is ringed or striped. And is also shorter than the hind limbs. The round ears are marked are marked with a bright white spot that is in contrast to the background. They have brown eyes and golden fur. The fur is a short and smooth with basal hairs in the back.


The Ocelot is known to be active in the twilight and is nocturnal in the night. They are thus difficult to observe. They are seen to be hunting in the daytime. They are active animals who hunt for 12-14 hours in a day and are seen on branches of trees, swimming in the river, running in the forest and under fallen trees.

Ocelot Leopards pardalis

Ocelot Leopards pardalis


The Ocelot is distributed all over South America, as well as the islands of Margarita, Central America, Mexico, Trinidad as well as countries in Brazil, Bolivia, Peru, Colombia, Argentina, and Uruguay.


The Ocelot is a carnivore that preys on small mammals, opossums, rabbits, rodents, small birds, insects, fishes, and reptiles. It does not target on large animals like deer


Ocelots may mate at any time of the year, and the time of peaks occurs vary geographically – the peak times have been observed during autumn and winter in Mexico and Texas and during autumn in Argentina and Paraguay

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scientific classification of Ocelot





Conservation status:

Least Concern

Scientific Classification

Range of the Ocelot

Recent Posts

  • About Fossa

    General Fossa is a relative of the mongoose, it...
  • Lowland Streaked Tenrec

    General Lowland streaked tenrecs are endemic to...
  • Wild Dogs

    The African wild dog also known as Cape hunting...
  • Maned Wolf

    General They look mostly like long-legged fox m...
  • Fishing Cat

    General Their eye for their prey is brilliant, ...
Smurfzoo - Animal Kingdom

383 Total Animals,Do a search of animals and animal species, to learn more about animals

About Fossa

General Fossa is a relative of the mongoose, it is a unique type of animal in the forests of Madagascar, which an African island in the Indian ocean. It grows up to 6 feet long from nose to the tip of tail, and weighs around 26 pounds. The fossa is a slim and flexible bodied

Lowland Streaked Tenrec

General Lowland streaked tenrecs are endemic to Madagascar. These creepy looking insectivores form a diverse group. Tenrecinae looks like a cross between a hedgehog and a shrew; their snouts are pointed and long, and their coat has spines all over it. Characteristics The Lowland streaked tenrecs and differentiated by two main features and that is,

Wild Dogs

The African wild dog also known as Cape hunting dog or painted dog, generally moves around in the open plains and also can be seen roaming around in the sparse woodlands of sub-Saharan Africa. These long-legged creatures only possess four toes per foot, that other dogs do not have. Characteristics Other dogs have five toes