American toad

The American toad is a type of toad. This animal lives in the United States and Canada. There are three different subspecies of this toad, they are – Eastern American Toad, Dwarf American Toad and the Hudson Bay Toad.

Eggs of the toads
The American Toad lays eggs which take 2-14 days to hatch. The tadpoles have skinny and black bodies and tiny tails. The tadpoles becomes adult within 2 months. The tadpoles feed on ants, spiders and worms. They also eat microscopic bugs. These tadpoles are very small but their skin has toxic chemicals which are dangerous for the predators. Some fishes die while trying to eat the tadpoles because of this chemical.

These toads are 51-90 mm long and the colour of their skin is usually brown or gray. The female toads are larger than the male toads and during the breeding time the males are seen to have dark throats.

Breeding season
The breeding season or time of these toads start from January or February and last till March to July.

Threatened species
This species are threatened of their existence and can become extinct after years. People will only be able to see pictures of them and read about them but they will not be seen anywhere on the earth.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Scientific classification of American toad

American toad


American toad

American toad

Scientific Classification

Binomial name

Anaxyrus americanus

Range of the American toad

Recent Posts

  • Binturong

    The Biturong is an carnivorous animal. It is al...
  • Coyote

    The Coyote lives in North America. It is a fami...
  • Ankylosaurus

    Ankylosaurus is a type of dinosaur and it means...
  • Crocodile

    The crocodiles are large reptiles. They are amp...
  • Dodo

    The Dodo bird is a flightless bird. This bird h...

Bookmark Me

You need to login or register to bookmark/favorite this content.

Smurfzoo - Animal Kingdom

365 Total Animals,Do a search of animals and animal species, to learn more about animals


The Biturong is an carnivorous animal. It is also known as bearcat. This animal usually lives in South and Southeast Asia. This animal is decreasing in number and is on the verge of extinction. This is an omnivorous mammal. The Biturong may be called a bearcat but it does not look like a bear or


The Coyote lives in North America. It is a family member of the wolves but it is slightly smaller than the gray wolf, eastern wolf and red wolf. This animal is found in abundance and there is no sign of it getting extinct in recent years. This animal is very versatile because of its ability


Ankylosaurus is a type of dinosaur and it means ‘fused lizard’. This name was given because all parts of the body of this animal is fused together. This species was the last non-avian dinosaurs. Characteristics The largest animal of this species was known to be very large and was between 6-8 metres long. They also